For Release August 18, 2017

## **ABEX 2017 Finalists Announced**

The finalists for the 2017 ABEX Awards are here! The ABEX Awards celebrate Saskatchewan business excellence, and we are pleased to announce the outstanding Saskatchewan businesses that will be recognized at this year's ABEX Awards, presented by Conexus Credit Union, on October 21<sup>st</sup> at TCU Place in Saskatoon.

"Here at the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce, we feel privileged to have the opportunity to honour Saskatchewan business excellence, and this year we have much to celebrate" said Steve McLellan, CEO of the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce.

After a rigorous adjudication process, 50 finalists out of 82 nominee applications were selected for their excellent business strategies in 9 categories. The finalists were judged on their application and supporting documents, with particular attention paid to unique business achievements, as well as a Safety Plan. The Workers Compensation Board is a proud Safety Partner for the ABEX Awards and all applicants are required to present their safety plan.

"The judging process is based on an evaluation system that provides opportunities for small and large businesses to compete on an equal footing," said McLellan.

In the Community Involvement Award category, sponsored by Cogent Chartered Professional Accountants LLP, the finalists are: Central Plains Co-operative Ltd, Lloydminster & District Co-operative Ltd., The Deveraux Group of Companies, S & E Trusted Online Directories, Wyant Group and YPH Mechanical.

In the Export Award category, sponsored by Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership, the finalists are: O&T Farms Ltd., Solido Design Automation, Three Farmers Products, Vendasta and Viterra Inc.

In the Growth and Expansion Award category, sponsored by PFM Capital Inc., the finalists are: Athabasca Basin Security LP, IntraGrain Technologies Inc., Leopold's Hospitality Management Group, ProMetal Industries, The Deveraux Group of Companies and YPH Mechanical.

In the Innovation Award category, sponsored by Innovation Saskatchewan, the finalists are: Bridges Health, Global Ag Risk Solutions, IntraGrain Technologies Inc., SoilVision Systems Ltd., Solido Design Automation and WMCZ Lawyers.

In the Marketing Award category, sponsored by Handy Special Events, the finalists are: Diamonds of Detroit, Gold Eagle Casino, North Prairie Developments Ltd., North Ridge Development Corporation, Spotlight Sport & Corporate Wear Ltd. and WMCZ Lawyers.

In the New Venture Award category, sponsored by the Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy, the finalists are: 9 Mile Legacy Brewing Co Ltd., Komfort Insulation Ltd., Queen City Excavating Inc., Sandy Shores Resort, Townfolio and Warman Physiotherapy & Wellness.

In the Service Award category, sponsored by Minard's Leisure World, the finalists are: CAA Saskatchewan, CRAVINGS maternity-baby-kids, Park Town Hotel, Saskatoon Fire & Flood, Siemens Transportation Group and Two Fifty Two Boutique.

In the Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award category sponsored by Cameco, the finalists are: Andrey Olinov - Complete Technologies Outsourced IT Ltd., Benjamin Waite - Your Investment Manager, Dustin Nehring and Taylor Lang - N.L. Construction Inc., Jill Kelly - Red Bicycle Communications Corp., Ryley Iverson, David Lee and Craig Paul - Townfolio, and Haylie Lashta - Warman Physiotherapy & Wellness.

The Priority Focus Award sponsored by Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority, is presented to a business which has gone above and beyond in demonstrating business excellence, in an area that is in line with a select Saskatchewan Chamber policy priority. This year the focus is on Energy Efficiency. The finalists are: Ecobain Gardens, North Ridge Development Corporation and The Green Builder Inc.

Five additional awards will be awarded on the night of the ABEX Awards; the prestigious Business Leader of the Year Award, sponsored by Saskatchewan PolyTechnic, the Community Leader of the Year Award, sponsored by SaskEnergy, the Saskatchewan Hall of Fame, the Roger Phillips Chamber Builder, and finally the ABEX Business of the Year sponsored by David Aplin Group.

The ABEX Awards is an evening of true celebration to dedication of Saskatchewan businesses. Tickets are available online at <u>www.saskchamber.com</u>.

For further information, contact:

Morgana Van Niekerk, Director of Marketing & Communications O- 306-781-3126 E- MVanNiekerk@saskchamber.com